Always free cheddar in a mousetrap, baby, it’s a deal

It’s been a bit of a while, (for which I humbly apologise), main reason for this being that I’ve just left my job and there’s a whole bunch of stuff that goes with that…

Anyway I’m here now (and free!).

I’ve been running through the pages of the AVClub this evening and whilst I was initially drawn in by an article on Innerspeaker by new Aussie faves Tame Impala, I got further distracted by an interview with Tom Waits, which is here, and is good reading.

In the past I’ve had a bit of a love-hate relationship with Tom Waits over the years. I remember buying and flogging to death Swordfishtrombone (Never could stand that dog…). But after while Waits’ delivery and the whole beat-hobo costume got a bit irksome and, well, silly… For some time, I pretty much loathed his records.

Well, it’s a new day, and prompted by the ever-wise Gary and Steven, I bought Alice from Emusic a couple of weeks ago.

And… I’m hooked again! It’s a be-yew-tiful record that I can’t stop listening to at the moment. Somehow all the things that used to drive me to distraction no longer seem like deal-breakers and I’m free to enjoy all the quirks, idiosyncrasies and lyrical brilliance that is stowed away in each song.

Can’t find any decent videos from the record (although, there’s something about Waits’ records that inspires art school students to make their own films, in droves), but this is just beautiful, even if it’s not really a video…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dave
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 21:24:29

    I agree that Alice is a wonderful album, and is one of my favorites. However, the most enchanting song for me is Fish & Bird. How he can make such a ridicolous concept into a beautiful tearjerker is beyond me, but he does it.
    Regards, Dave.

    Reply

    • partlyporpoise
      Jul 24, 2010 @ 10:20:41

      That’s the trick, isn’t it? And generally applies to all of Waits’ work – getting over some of his more outlandish traits and seeing real beauty there.

      I must find out more about the whole Lewis Carroll / Alice Liddell story…

      Cheers!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

