Baby I’ve got some words for you…

Green Man ’10 – the Besnard Lakes

(I say Besnard, you say Beynard…)

I’m all over the place with this chronologically, aren’t I? Starting at Friday and working my way through to Sunday would’ve been the obvious move really. But, here’s a set from about half way through the festival, anyway; roll back to Saturday afternoon and the rain is finally beginning to falter…

Enter Montreal’s Besnard Lakes, with their grungy Beach Boys sound, trying to bring a bit of sunshine to the proceedings (which they kinda did). We’d just come from the Far Out tent where we’d seen Islets (who looked like they might be waiting for their GCSE results) and I’d expected a similar bunch of self-conscious callow things.

In the event, we got husband and wife team Jace Lasek and Olga Goreas plus a supporting cast, none of whom looked like they were seeing thirty again. Now don’t get me wrong, as a gentleman of a certain age I’m unlikely to go all ageist on you. It was just a surprise to see Lasek coming on looking like Ian Hunter, and I wasn’t sure whether to be heartened or disappointed to see his bald patch during frequent (and ill-advised) heads-down guitar solos…

Anyway, shallow jibes aside, the Lakes started their slot powerfully with a storming version of Like the Ocean, Like the Innocent and a terrifically spiteful Devastation, and moved through key points in their last two albums. It was good stuff, although I confess by the end I was growing a little jaded.

I recorded all of a pretty good set again, although occasionally it’s slightly spoiled by the sound of the wind rasping across the mic, (for which I can only apologise…)

Like the Ocean, Like the Innocent

Devastation

Glass Printer

Albatross

And This is What we Call Progress

Disaster

And You Lied to Me

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jim C
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 17:21:32

    Thanks for the recording. Just saw them myself Monday night in a little club and they were fantastic. One of the albums of the year for me.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Green Man Festival 2010 audio and video : Hobbsy.com – Indie Music • Concert Photos • Gadgets • Web Design • Affiliate Marketing
  3. Danny Sherr
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 21:55:30

    The Mediafire links for the tune “Disaster” leads to a repeat of the second number, “Devastation’. Thought you’d like to know. Thanks for the posting! Danny

    Reply

Leave a Reply

