The lights go on, the lights go off…

As I think I said, one of the Green Man shows I’d been hoping to put up was the Beirut one, but then I thought I’d wait until I’d seen their Eastbourne show and do a sort of combined post, with elements from both shows.

In the end the Eastbourne one was a different show altogether and probably the better of the two.

By now I can’t actually remember such a lot about the Green Man set, (I imagine it was raining), so I’ll just refresh my memory with a video clip I took:

So, anyway, me and Michael trekked down to Eastbourne to see one of only three other performances they were doing. I couldn’t work out why Eastbourne had been chosen for the show (and I’m not really any the wiser, hardly Rock City…), but I have to say the old Winter Gardens is a fabulous little venue, all chandeliers and Victorian trappings, in the mould of our dear old Guild Hall, but lighter generally. Very impressed.

A couple of support bands came and went without event, and then Zac Condon led his troupe on stage, and began a terrific hour’s entertainment. The whole show mainly revolves around the interplay between his sweeping crooning vocals and the brass convoy to his left. But I really appreciated the classy understated work of accordionist Perrin Cloutier, as well. It really is an elegant sound they make.

The time passed very quickly and before we knew it the second encore was over. I did, however, manage to tape most of the show, and as I said was going to give a section of songs from both shows, but in pretty much every case the Winter Garden recordings are better (I think, they’re one of those bands that are better experienced inside, jumping up and down and getting sweaty…)

So here we go:

Nantes

The Shrew

The Elephant Gun

Mimizan

Postcards from Italy

Cocek

Scenic World

The Concubine

East Harlem

The Akara

A Sunday Smile

The Penalty

Mount Wroclai

Carousels

Forks and Knives (La Fete)

Gulag Orkestar

And finally, I shot some video of Mount Wroclai:

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mouxlaloulouda
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 23:56:10

    Thank you for this recording!
    Unidentified 4th song has the same link with “The Shrew”.
    Unidentified 6th song is called “Cozak” (You can hear it at ‘Live at Music Hall of Williamsburg’)
    Unidentified 14th song is called “Carousels” (from ‘Lon Gisland EP’)

    Reply

  2. busqueros
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 08:52:48

    4th song sends me back to The Shrew, so I don’t know what it was
    6th song is a traditional čoček
    a new song is titled East Harlem
    14th is Carousels

    cheers

    Reply

  3. partlyporpoise
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 09:36:49

    Thanks you two! I’ve changed the faulty link – and again if you know the song, do let me know.

    Cheers

    Reply

  4. busqueros
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 10:26:55

    yep, it’s called Mimizan.
    and again 6th is “Čoček” or “Serbian Čoček” (čoček is a name of musical form, č pronounced as ch), “Cozak” is also a name of an Ukrainian dance but her it’s just a misspelling.

    Reply

  5. partlyporpoise
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 10:42:11

    You’re a gent – all sorted!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

