What might’ve been lost…

God bless people who write comments! I’m not a great interacter (but that’s all going to change), but I am pathetically grateful when someone takes the trouble to add a comment on this Blog.

Bon Iver

A feller who calls himself ArthManual, who runs this rather cool site has posted a comment asking about the Bon Iver, Green Man set that I’ve rashly promised to make available a couple of times.

I’m glad he contacted me actually because it made me listen to the tracks again, and they’re decent recordings of what was one of the best sets of Green Man ’09. I can see why I may not have posted them in the first place in that I’d managed to stand next to a couple of guys who inexplicably got bored about two songs in and talked loudly through the rest of the set (I ask you…).

Listening again, I’m perhaps a bit more forgiving of this (if you are…) and I’ve enjoyed hearing them again. Only six tracks survive, I’m afraid, and one of my lasting regrets of the evenings was that, conscious of my batteries, I’d already switched the recorder off by the time he got to a hairs-on-the-back-of-your-neck version of Wolves to finish the set.

The songs are:

Flume

Skinny Love

Creature Fear

Re: Stacks

Babies

For Emma

Ah well, the versions of Skinny Love and For Emma stand up particularly well, I feel. You can download these songs in one .RAR file, here

Skimming through Youtube, I found this video taken a lot further back than I was standing, so you can’t see the performers but it does manage to capture something of that wonderful finale…

Heady days…

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ArthManual
    Nov 07, 2010 @ 09:20:03

    Cool! Thanks for the download. It was a special Greenman for us, it was our Honeymoon. We were sat on the hill, popped open a bottle of champagne when Mr.Iver played ‘Skinny love’, but Sir Bon drew us in so this is where we we were stood http://www.flickr.com/photos/artholove/3867941559/in/set-72157622053957085/
    As ‘For Emma’ played i whisked a friend off his feet & danced him waist high cradling him like a baby, he was loving it.
    Good times, & Thanks for adding that ArthManual link.

    Reply

    • partlyporpoise
      Nov 07, 2010 @ 15:34:34

      Honeymoon, you say? Heady days indeed…

      I went this year and enjoyed it, but 2009 was particularly good – combination of great performances, old friends and new friends met (and drinking) made it the best of the four I’ve been too…

      Going this year?

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Bon Iver / Greenman ’09 « ArthManual
  3. dh
    Nov 07, 2010 @ 15:10:31

    no worries mate, i’m not great at leaving comments, still loving the blog & the recent greenman stuff was wonderful. xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

