No surprise to fall in love on Ursula’s crow…

One of my favourite Blogs, Lonesome Music, has awoken from a longish summer slumber, which is very good news indeed. I’ve always enjoyed his determinedly old-school approach to Country music and his ability to dig up records I’ve not heard of.

Jonny

Today’s post concerned the free release of an EP by Jonny and started me off on a bit of a search through my hard drive. Jonny is the name of a project that Euros Childs and Norman Blake have been putting together for some time now, and I was fortunate enough to see them at Green Man last year in the big tent. It was a chirpy, informal sort of a set with a number of songs needing to be restarted as they were still clearly getting used to playing the songs together.

Turns out I made some recordings of the session that I never posted at the time (I have no idea why…). An album is planned for January next year and some of the songs they played that afternoon will be turning up on it. I’m posting a couple here, plus a third song that doesn’t look to have made the cut (though I can’t see why – it’s lovely).

The Goodnight

Wich is Wich

Ursula’s Crow

Here’s the link to download the free Jonny EP – you’ll need to supply your email address to get it. Do yourself a favour: Gorky’s–Fannies–free. Sounds like win-win-win to me…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. howard
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 08:37:11

    Thanks for the recordings, btw. my sister Beth is co-author, so most of those old school country posts are probably hers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

