Confusion in her eyes that says it all…

Just a couple of bits and bobs…

#lpgroup

#lpgroup was a lot of fun actually, thanks for asking. Bunch of us got together and selected an album to run through in a bookclub sort of a style. This time we chose Unknown Pleasures and tweeted comments about it as we went along.

I haven’t listened to any Joy Division for a very long time, although I was pretty keen at the time. On Sunday, though, I was surprised just how powerful a record it was. In my head I’d remembered it as an album of pretty slow and miserable tempo – all “Candidate” and “I Remember Nothing” – but I’d forgotten just how forceful, compelling and just plain rough a lot of the tracks are. Found some of Martin Hannett’s incursions a little irritating after a while, too. A great listen, mind.

Lest we forget…

The other piece of news is that recent PP faves, Welsh surf wizards, Y Niwl, are now officially cool, popping up as they have with this week’s CD of the Week award from (bizarrely) the Sunday Times.

Turns out I’m going to be seeing them in a month’s time, as they’re supporting Gruff Rhys at St Georges. Should be fun if this is anything go by…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ArthManual
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 22:05:06

    On the 28th in Bristol? I’ll be seeing Gruff & Y Niwl there too 🙂 Note comparing on the horizon methinks.

    Reply

  2. partlyporpoise
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 19:50:58

    Sounds a good idea – I’ll wear a white carnation!
    A bit nearer the time, I’ll get in touch, maybe meet for a drink before hand?
    Cheers!

    Reply

  3. ArthManual
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 22:18:25

    Nice Idea Mr.Porpoise 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

