Huw M – more quirky Welsh folk…

It’s been a couple of weeks, hasn’t it, and I do have at least three posts I’ve been meaning to make. This is probably only going to be a quickie, as well. Apologies. Truth is the ad hoc work is building up and I’ve been fairly busy. This is clearly a good thing (this is clearly a bad thing…).

Anyway.

Sheesh! What is it with the Welsh? So much good music coming out of the Principality these days. Has it always been like this and I’ve just not noticed? Recently I’ve written about Y Niwl, Sweet Baboo, Jonny and H Hawkline. I’ve also blogged innumerable times on Gruff Rhys, Cate Le Bon and the various Gorky’s side projects. But it seems like the tap is well truly on…

Huw M

I’m afraid I still don’t know much about this feller (I know, I know, but you can Google as well as I). To be honest, all you need to know is that he soundsuncannily like the early Gorky’s records – maybe not quite as quirky, but with all the heart-breakingly beautiful harmonies, tongue-mangling Welsh lyrics and clog dancing. Have a watch of this rather charming little vid…

He has a record out, which you can get from Emusic (here) and it’s all beautiful, the same simple, unassuming songs and arrangements with ukuleles, guitars, cellos and the like.

All very satisfying…

(oh and yeah, missed him at Green Man too…)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ArthManual
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 19:47:04

    Haha! I think you’d love to add that I designed his record cover & was nominated in the top 3 of best album cover design of 2009 in ‘Y Selar’ Welsh music magazine’

    my flickr page: http://www.flickr.com/photos/artholove/3191807423/in/set-72157594276264243/
    I met Huw and discussed working on an album cover, after he bought one of my works from a gallery in Cardiff. He actually owns 3 pieces of my art. A very nice & talented man. Live he’s amazing! He builds his music piece by piece in front of you using samplers but also as the traditional ‘one man band’. I always consider him to be the Welsh Sufjan Stevens.
    Nice coverage Mr.Porpoise:)

    Reply

  2. Trackback: HUW M « ArthManual
  3. ArthManual
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 22:58:46

    Haha! Holy Moly No! Nowhere near a Renaissance man. Michael Angelo’s Hand of God must have been busy that day {washing hair}:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

