Don’t Ever Die, ‘Cause I Love You Alive

(I annoy myself that I leave these things so long – been meaning to do this for ages…)

A good while ago I got one of those occasional (but welcome) emails, from a band offering me a copy of their CD in return for a bit of a plug. As you know, I lap this sort of thing up and bask in the light being a real Blogger for a while. I may have over-basked, shall we say…

Gintis are another band in this current wave of top Welsh acts who I actually featured way back when PP was still in short pants. The record, released last month, is called Idiot Guides and Plans, and is quite a pleasant set of lo-fi songs with some great highlights and a couple of tracks that are not really my sort of thing.

One of the reasons I left it so long before posting on this is that I’ve kind of blown hot and cold about the record at different times. In the end, however, I’ve been charmed and won over by the bemused “left behind by the modern world” figures they’ve cut. The songs are regretful acoustic affairs, occasionally embellished by the odd banjo, or sweeping organ sound, and often recast by the odd quirk here and there (I think I heard a Rolf-style wobble board at one point…)

I’m posting my two favourite tracks here but you can get the whole record from the generous (and patient) folk at Fresh Hair Records and also read a profile of the band here. You can also stream the whole record at Fresh Hair

Now I know

The Waltzer Song

Leave a Reply

