Some More Green Man Sets – Holy F***; Bleeding Heart Narrative

I’m not getting on with this as quickly as I’d hoped but here are a couple of new Green Man sets for you…

[Sorry about the asterisks – I’m a bit concerned about the search engine issue]

Holy F***

I’m not what you’d call a die-hard fan of this lot, although there are times when their second album “LP” really hits the spot. So I wasn’t really sure how I was going to find what promised to be a really raucous Saturday night headlining set from Holy F***.

They took a while to warm up, and one point my head was being turned by the Green Man Pub stage, but I’m glad I stayed because it turned into a really good set, absolutely blistering by the end of the hour, the second half of which shot by.

As an old feller, I find myself increasingly bemused by how bands are made up these days. There was a drummer, I’m sure, a good one too, belting the hell out of his kit and providing some grounding to the wild electronic sounds that spun around him. There was a bass player too, but after that I couldn’t tell you quite what the other two blokes were doing, tapping on keyboards, banging different pads and twiddling knobs all over. It was loud all the time and pretty much rabid at times…

I’ve tried but failed to identify a number of the tracks they played, and so I’m having to resort to numbers for some of them (I hate this…), but if anyone recognises tracks, do please give me a yell. Here goes:

Super Inuit

Two

Three

Four

Stay Lit

Six

Red Lights

Royal Gregory

Lovely Allen

The Pulse

Eleven

Safari

I’ve also go another set for you, by an earnest troupe of acoustic dabblers, that I’ve written about before…

Bleeding Heart Narrative

In my fevered mind, I can make a link between Holy F*** and Bleeding Heart Narrative, the latter being a kind acoustic version of the former. If you can imagine a kind of folky krautrock…. Well, try….

They set themselves up with guitars, keyboards, rhythm, cello and violin and ran through a really interesting, occasionally droney set, full of wailing vocals, and sprightly songs. I really enjoyed it (and they were kind enough to send me a set list after the weekend…

Perun

HAL Passes the Turing Test

Mysterious Cults / Shoals

The Cartographer

The Jetty

Ambergris

Henry Box Brown

Leave a Reply

