The limbs detached and swam away, it surrounds me, a mystic gravity…

I would never do this, OK (far too trite for a classy blog such as this) but if I were to try to fashion some elaborate conceit about some of the cracking music coming out of Wales these days, I think I’d probably plump for a Pobol Y Cwm sort of terraced street with weird Celtic musicians in each house. Imagine it, Richard James and Cate le Bon as neighbours, Huw M in the house next door, the Y Niwl boys in the noisy student house belting it out at all hours…. You get the idea.

Anyway, I wont do that.

The point to all this is that in my somewhat tired mental image the sleeping arrangements need a bit of a reshuffle, as I’ve this week downloaded from eMusic another couple of … belting… Welsh records that I’m really enjoying.

I’ll talk about H Hawkline another time (particularly as I have a recording to upload still – ah, sorry Arth…) but right now this is my record of the moment…

Jen Jeniro

I’ve been meaning to write this post for a quite a while now, having been tipped of by my mate ArthManual (certainly your go-to place for new Welsh music) last summer and got a couple of Tweets from them on Twitter, but never got round to writing it up.  Then I met singer and JJ founder, Eryl at Green Man this year, promising him profusely to get this post up…

{sigh}

Anyway, turns out the records on eMusic (2008’s Geleniaeth and this summer’s Swimming Limbs EP) are both real fizzers, a combination of warm erratic psychedelia and slightly mournful Celtic tones.

The songs are interspersed with a real mixture of choppy garagey riffs, balmy country meanderings and gung ho experimentation. The singing is mostly in Welsh (I’m feeling increasingly left out these days) but it’s all sufficiently weirdly embellished with plucking and whistling sounds that there’s still loads to listen to, even if you are linguistically challenged. I really like all the sombre pipe sounds and sombre guitars pretending to be pipes, particularly.

Have a listen to Ebeneezer the opening track on Swimming Limbs:

And a watch of this:

Gorgeous stuff, (and not a mention of Gorky’s anywhere…)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ArthManual
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 23:43:29

    Sweet! 🙂 You Can Catch Jen Jeniro at Swn Festival this weekend
    http://www.swnfest.com/line-up-2011/jen-jeniro/

    Big Thumbs Up Sweey 🙂

    Reply

  2. partlyporpoise
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 07:53:49

    HAve a good weekend, mate!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

