Up against a wall I heard a sound – it woke me up

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Came across this record on Emusic earlier in the week…

CANT

Chris Taylor (not a name I knew, I’ll be honest, but presumably you knew he was the bass player with Grizzly Bear), has put out a record of his own under the name CANT.

Now, I come to think of it, I could do with a new Grizzly Bear record – I loved Veckatimest, and they were terrific the couple of times I saw them the summer before last – but I gather they’re on a bit of a sabbatical at the moment, so this ‘ll have to do.

Actually, this’ll do very nicely, because although all the reviews I’ve read make a bit of a thing about it being very different to Veckatimest, it doesn’t sound a million miles away from a Grizzly Bear release to me. True Dreams Come True doesn’t have quite the same fuzzy warmth as his day job – it’s got a sleaker, more technical feel to it – but the same ethereal song writing skills are in evidence and the willingness to play around with new sounds is, if possible, even more to the fore. There’s even a bit of a groove in a good few of the tracks…

Stand-out tracks are Bang and She Found a Way Out, but I can imagine one or two others are going to gently rise to the surface in the next few days.

 

 

 

Very nice record indeed, but will it tide me over until  the next Grizzly Bear offering… ?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Crystal Bright
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 05:02:26

    You might like this:
    Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zV5eWwAmOGI
    It’s Crystal Bright & the Silver Hands’ new video “Drowned Out” for Crystal Bright’s new album, “Muses and Bones,” to be released in January next year. The video is very creepy and the sound of the new album is very different (each song is very different from the next.) The video features accordions, musical saws, spiders, murder, a deranged preacher, revenge and a very crazy lady!..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

