You got a grey suede coat and a soul on fire!

eyes%2520uk10035b73Zoinks!

February already? What happened to January?

In truth, I’ve not listened to a lot of new music in the last month or so. Instead, I’ve been immersing myself in the exotic delights and fragrant scents of sixties freakbeat and British psychedelia. I’ve blown pretty much all of a month’s Emusic credits on the five volumes of the PerfumedGarden series of compilations and dipped into more than a few similar collections.

I gather “freakbeat” is a bit of modern invention and that the term didn’t exist in the mid-sixties at all, but it works as a description of a group of British bands, following in the Biff Bang Pow, Pop Art steps of the Who and the Creation.

Some great songs and sounds in there too, but unfortunately very little footage of the bands. I’ve dug up what I can, but in a couple of cases, you’ll have to make do with some quite imaginative collage work from the uploader…

Get with it!

The Smoke – “My Friend Jack”

(eats sugar lumps, apparently…)

Rupert’s People – “I Can Show You”

(massive Steve Marriott borrowing going on here, and super-rare apparently)

The Eyes – “All Rowed Out”

(probably my favourite “find” of the lot, can’t believe these lads didn’t get really, really famous…)

The Factory – “Try a Little Sunshine”

(not real footage of course, but strikes the right note…)

Les Fleur de Lys / Sharon Tandy – “Hold On”

(another really great band of the era, if you can overlook the occasional foray into ill-advised “whimsy”.)

Leave a Reply

