Fix me up with your sweet dose…

ImageI uploaded this special Freakbeat Lucky Seven a good fortnight ago and can’t believe I didn’t post it at the time…

Not been listening to a lot of new music recently, but instead have spent a lot of time wallowing in the sugary mire of British psychedelia and mid-sixties freakbeat. And in the spirit of the time, I thought I’d share a little something with you…

Take Her Anytime – The Longboatmen (fantastic crashing feedback guitars that gradually take over …)

You’re Too Much – The Eyes (spoke about these lads in the last post – beats me how they’re not more well-known, again, a cracking, dangerous guitar riff dominates)

Strange Walking Man – Mandrake Paddle Steamer (another track I’m amazed I didn’t know earlier, cleverly put together, sounding a lot like Revolver-era Beatles)

Mud In Your Eye – Les Fleur De Lys (another biff-bang-pow of a record, Pretty Things/Who guitar riff, could’ve chosen five or six by this lot)

Vacuum Cleaner – Tintern Abbey (actually knew this record from the eighties Chocolate Soup For Diabetics collection, a re-discovered favourite…)

I Must Be Mad – Craig (more driving, urgent guitar riffs, common theme developing, priceless)

Hold On – Rupert’s People (wrote about these last time too, and I think I read somewhere that they were some sort of Fleur De Lys offshoot, here they’re doing the same song as FDL were talking in the YouTube clip.)

Fix yourself up…

Leave a Reply

