With Us Soon

The unexpected bonus of a relatively free Sunday has meant that I’ve been able to do a bit of work on the pond, go for a walk by the canal and even consider a bit of a post for the long-suffering, patient readers of this Blog.

I bought the new Temples record the other week, which has had some good words said and written about it (plus a few not so good), but I’ve listened to it just a couple of times since. Haven’t really managed to form a coherent opinion of it yet, however, because a couple of whispers amongst the in-the-know Twitter folk I like to surround myself with have given me these two sticky delights to stuff myself silly with…

Morgan Delt

MorganDelt_AlbumArt-608x608You can read about Morgan Delt here on his Trouble In Mind page and read the first couple of lines (if you’re like me) of the Pitchfork review here, but I’d rather think of him as another of the Jonathan Wilson-style West Coast, sunfried aliens that emerges from time to time, album and musical persona, fully formed and ready to go.

If Wilson’s records come from the land of Seventies Laurel Canyon though, you could probably say that Delt’s self-titled LP has been hot-housed in Sixties Haight Ashbury with a more than (un)healthy dose of bonkers English psychedelia in there. It’s a lot of fun. Here’s the opener Make My Grey Brain Green from the record, really gooey, freaky stuff…

 

 

The other record that has had me capering around at the wheel in an unseemly fashion this couple of weeks is another self-titled effort from this bloke:

Doug Tuttle

doug tuttleTuttle is another Trouble In Mind alumni, where he released two records with another band I’m starting to explore, Mmoss, from whom he’s recently split. His own record is a beautiful mix of Byrds-y psychedelia with a huge nod towards Teenage Fanclub (indeed I Will Leave could have come straight off Songs from Northern Britain). As a record, full of keening organs, distorted vocals and engineering trickery, it’s damn near perfect, if not quite as exhilarating Morgan Delt’s; and if next Christmas I’m not banging on about it in my End Of Year lists, then it’s either been a helluva year, or I’ve been having a helluva Christmas…

Here’s the opener track of this record too, With Us Soon:

 

 

This is a record I’ve not finished with yet.

Leave a Reply

