Auntie Clancy and Uncle Dillard…

maxresdefaultWent to the recently-spruced up Thekla for the first time in ages, last week, to see the evergreen, ever-whimsical Euros Childs, and a quality evening it was too.

Euros

Having scrambled to get in on time, (and therefore missed the support band – something of a feature of this year), we were treated to a lovely show, full of off-kilter charm and light melancholy, with Euros backed by his own keyboard but also by a full band, including the thrilling mandolin-flute of Laura J Martin.

Mostly, he ran through the group of bewitching songs that make up his new record, Sweetheart and very good they were; but thrillingly, he did manage to find time to fit in a jaunty version of one of my favourites, “Heywood Lane”, and by a stroke of very good fortune, there’s this footage of it from another leg of the tour:

 

And while on YouTube, I came across this little gem, which features a charmingly inept Mel Fung inviting Euros and a couple of other musicians I didn’t know, to play outside her house in Cardiff. There’s chatting, drinking, table tennis and a bit of singing. Look out particularly for the part where the power fails but… trooper that he is, Euros ploughs on, plonking away on a dead keyboard until he’s plugged back in.

 

Inexplicably, I forgot to take my little recording device with which I like to capture these events, so I’m afraid there’s nowt to show for my last gig of ‘15.

It did get me thinking about the gigs I’ve managed this year, though…

Leave a Reply

